Nation’s Premier Pro-Science Political Organization Will Seek to Elect Scientists in Sixty-Seven Key Federal and Statewide Races

March 4, 2021

PHILADELPHIA — Today, 314 Action Fund released its initial list of electoral targets ahead of the 2022 campaign cycle. With sixty-seven races for U.S. Senate, U.S. House, governor, and down-ballot statewide office, this target list serves as 314 Action Fund’s most ambitious since the organization’s founding in 2017. 

314 Action Fund is setting its goals higher than ever following four years of rapid growth and success. Since its inception in 2016, 314 Action Fund has increased its fundraising from $5 million per cycle to nearly $30 million with a goal of $50 million for the 2022 cycle, and its membership base has expanded from 400,000 to 5.8 million.

In the 2020 cycle, 314 Action Fund recruited and/or supported each of the Democratic candidates who flipped U.S. Senate seats. 314 Action Fund drafted scientists Sen. Mark Kelly and Sen. John Hickenlooper to successfully run for U.S. Senate and raised $3.2 million in grassroots donations for their campaigns. 314 Action Fund also invested nearly $1 million in digital and direct mail programs to support Sen. Jon Ossoff and Sen. Raphael Warnock in their January runoff elections and raised over half a million dollars for the two candidates.

In the U.S. House, 314 Action Fund helped re-elect science candidates Rep. Kim Schrier (WA-08), Rep. Lauren Underwood (IL-14), Rep. Sean Casten (IL-06), Rep. Elaine Luria (VA-02), and Rep. Chrissy Houlahan (PA-06) in 2020 after supporting their first-time candidacies that flipped the U.S. House in 2018. 314 Action Fund also endorsed over 100 winning state and local science candidates.

“In 2022, 314 Action Fund is going to make every anti-science Republican defend their brainless denials of climate change, no matter how long they’ve been in office or what corporate special interests are funding their campaigns,” said Joshua Morrow, Executive Director of 314 Action Fund. “Voters are sick of Republicans playing with their futures and those of their children and the planet. We’re going to do everything we can to make sure science is on the ballot—and on the mind of every voter—in 2022.”

The full list of races and seats that 314 Action Fund will target in 2022 and is releasing at this time is as follows:

U.S. Senate

FL-Sen: Marco Rubio

IA-Sen: Chuck Grassley

MO-Sen: Roy Blunt

NC-Sen: Open (Richard Burr)

OH-Sen: Open (Rob Portman)

PA-Sen: Open (Pat Toomey)

WI-Sen: Ron Johnson


AZ-Gov: Open (Doug Ducey)

HI-Gov: Open (David Ige – D)

IA-Gov: Kim Reynolds

MD-Gov: Open (Larry Hogan)

NH-Gov: Chris Sununu

OH-Gov: Mike DeWine – R

OR-Gov: Open (Kate Brown – D)

SC-Gov: Henry McMcMaster – R

SD-Gov: Kristi Noem – R

TX-Gov: Greg Abbott – R

Down-ballot Statewides

CA-Controller: Open (Betty Yee – D)

GA-SoS: Brad Raffensberger

IL-SoS: Open (Jesse White – D)

MD-Comptroller: Open (Peter Franchot – D)

NV-SoS: Open (Barbara Cegavske – R)

NM-Treasurer: Open (Tim Eichenberg – D)

OH-SoS: Frank LaRose – R

PA-LG: Open (John Fetterman – D)

RI-SoS: Open (Nellie Gorbea – D)

RI-Treasurer: Open (Seth Magaziner – D)

TX-LG: Dan Patrick – R

U.S. House

AZ-06: David Schweikert

CA-04: Tom McClintock

CA-21: David Valadao

CA-22: Devin Nunes

CA-25: Mike Garcia

CA-39: Young Kim

CA-48: Michelle Steel

CO-03: Lauren Boebert

FL-27: Maria Salazar

GA-14: Marjorie Taylor Greene

IA-01: Ashley Hinson

IA-02: Mariannette Miller-Meeks

IL-13: Rodney Davis

IN-05: Victoria Spartz

MD-01: Andy Harris

MI-03: Peter Meijer

MI-06: Fred Upton

MN-01: Jim Hagedorn

MO-02: Ann Wagner

MT-AL: Matthew Rosendale

NE-02: Don Bacon

NJ-02: Jeff Van Drew

NY-24: John Katko

OH-01: Steve Chabot

OH-10: Michael Turner

OH-12: Troy Balderson

PA-10: Scott Perry

SC-01: Nancy Mace

TX-02: Dan Crenshaw

TX-03: Van Taylor

TX-06: Vacant (previously Ron Wright)

TX-10: Michael McCaul

TX-21: Chip Roy

TX-22: Troy Nehls

TX-23: Ernest “Troy” Gonzales

TX-24: Beth Van Duyne

TX-31: John Carter

VA-01: Robert Wittman

WA-03: Jaime Herrera Beutler


314 Action Fund is powered by a grassroots community of over five million people working to elect scientists, doctors, and STEM professionals who will use science and facts to address our most pressing issues like climate change and health care. In 2018 and 2020, we played a pivotal role in flipping the U.S. Senate and the U.S. House of Representatives, electing eleven Democratic scientists to federal office, as well as over 100 to key legislative districts. In 2021 and 2022, 314 Action Fund will continue working to elect science leaders and defeat climate deniers in Congress and legislatures across the country.